Tales of a First Time Gardener: Approaching Harvest Time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By Ayrel Clark-Proffitt, Office of Sustainability

A couple of months ago, I wrote about my experiences as a first-time gardener. Gardening is something that my grandparents did every year, but it wasn’t a skill or hobby that my mother picked up. However, I’ve really enjoyed watching the garden change since planting the first seedlings in late May. (Many of my seedlings went in the ground a few weeks late because of vacations.) Some people treat pets like children, but I treated my plants like my babies. I talked to them, watered them, and checked on them every night, especially after a wind storm. The words, “Oh no, my babies” definitely slipped out of my mouth a few times when I saw clouds rolling in.

It’s an indescribable feeling to be able to walk out your door and grab vegetables right off the vine, and I look forward to many more years and experiments in my garden.

Leave a Reply

